Press Releases

WEDI Honors Health IT Innovators with 2012 WEDI Awards Ceremony

November 01, 2012
RESTON, VA, November 1, 2012 - The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI), the leading authority on the use of Health IT to improve the exchange of healthcare information, announced the results of the 2012 WEDI Awards at a presentation ceremony held in conjunction with the WEDI 2012 Fall Conference in Reston, Virginia.

Now in its 10th year, the WEDI Awards honor individuals and organizations in the healthcare industry whose achievements have contributed to the advancement of EDI and eCommerce technology through the development and implementation of standards for administrative simplification. The awards also recognize the development and application of new technologies designed to improve operations and cost-effectiveness in healthcare business enterprises. The nominees are reviewed by a cross-discipline jury comprised of WEDI members.

The 2012 WEDI Award recipients:

WEDI Award of Merit
Recognizes individuals who have contributed in a meaningful way to the success of WEDI and/or WEDI SNIP programs and activities through their volunteer commitment and talents.

Susan Ackley, Cognosante
Stacey Barber, HP Enterprise Services
Steven C. Benjamin, UnitedHealthcare
Donna Campbell, Health Care Service Corporation
Ruth Carr, J.D., LL.M.
John Evans, RelayHealth
Richard Farmer, Passport Health Communications
Craig Gabron, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
Alan Gardner, RxResults, LLC
David Holtzman, Office for Civil Rights
Mary Rita Hyland, The SSI Group, Inc.
Susan Langford, BlueCross BlueShield of Tennessee
Peggy Lynahan, Christiana Care
Mary Lynam, Argus Health Systems, Inc.
Ken Masslon, UnitedHealthcare
Richard Moore, eHealth Ohio
Charles Myers, CPAM, Johns Hopkins Health System
Gina Park, AXIOM Systems, Inc.
Nancy Sanchez-Caro, Montefiore Medical Center
Robert Stallings, PricewaterhouseCoopers, LLP
Kevin Stine, National Institute of Standards and Technology
Merri-Lee Stine, Aetna
Ellen VanBuskirk, VanBuskirk & Associates

WEDI Distinguished Service Award
Recognizes individuals who have provided significant leadership to the fulfillment of the mission, objectives, programs and overall volunteer activities of WEDI and/or WEDI SNIP through participation in committees, workgroups, PAGs, Board of Directors, etc.

Lesley Berkeyheiser, N-Tegrity Solutions Group, LLC
Mary Lynn Bushman, National Government Services, Inc.
Kelly Butler, Emdeon
Mark Cone, N-Tegrity Solutions Group, LLC
Maureen Croker, Delta Dental Plans Association
Jim Daley, BlueCross BlueShield of South Carolina
Laurie Darst, Mayo Clinic
Gloria Davis, NextGen Healthcare
David Ginsberg, PrivaPlan Associates, Inc.
Pamela Groze, PNC Healthcare
Peggy Honts, AXIOM Systems, Inc.
Kathryn Jönzzon, Delta Dental Plans Association
Gail Kocher, BlueCross BlueShield Association
Joseph McClure, Siemens Medical Solutions USA
Ron Meier, Health Net Inc.
Susan A. Miller, JD
Stanley Nachimson, Nachimson Advisor, LLC
Joseph Nichols, MD; Health Data Consulting
Debra Strickland, TIBCO Software, Inc.
Mandy Willis, CCS;   Healthcare IS

WEDI Corporate Leadership Award
Recognizes the WEDI Member organization that displays the highest level of commitment to and corporate involvement in the work and activities of WEDI each year.

The TriZetto Group, Inc.

WEDI Leadership in Technology Award
Recognizes an individual’s or organization’s contribution to the advancement of EDI and eCommerce technology in healthcare.

Network Health

Louis W. Sullivan Award
Recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through their leadership vision and achievements in advancing the overall quality and efficiency of healthcare. This award is named in honor of former HHS Secretary, Louis Sullivan who in 1991 was instrumental in the creation of WEDI and initiating the healthcare industry’s ongoing collective commitment to improving the quality, efficiency and cost-effectiveness of personal healthcare through the development and implementation of standards for administrative simplification.

Lorraine Tunis Doo, The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

Andrew H. Melczer Excellence in Volunteerism Award
Recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service by giving his/her time to the association or industry activities on a national basis. The award aims to recognize the person whose business philosophy is to make the world a better place by sharing one’s time and talents and is named in memory of Andrew H. Melczer who exemplified these characteristics through his volunteerism with WEDI.

Laurie Burckhardt, WPS Insurance

Chairman’s Award
This award is presented at the discretion of WEDI’s Chair to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the advancement of specific WEDI initiatives.

Laurie Darst, Mayo Clinic
Gail Kocher, BlueCross BlueShield Association
Jean Narcisi, American Dental Association