WEDI Report 2013 WEDI Report Bios
2013 WEDI Report Bios


The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.
Honorary Chair, 2013 WEDI Report
Executive Steering Committee 
Doug Fridsma, M.D., Ph.D.
Director, Office of Standards and Interoperability and Chief Scientist
Office of the National Coordinator (ONC)
Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) 
John P. Glaser, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer, Health Services
Siemens Healthcare 
Lynne Thomas Gordon, MBA, RHIA, FACHE, CAE, FAHIMA
Chief Executive Officer
American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA) 
Mary Grealy
Healthcare Leadership Council (HLC) 
Karen Ignagni
President and Chief Executive Officer
America’s Health Insurance Plans (AHIP) 
Mark W. Jurkovich, D.D.S.
Practicing Dentist
ADA Member Representative
American Dental Association (ADA) 
Charles N. Kahn, III
President and Chief Executive Officer
Federation of American Hospitals (FAH) 
Farzad Mostashari, M.D., Sc.M.
National Coordinator
Health Information Technology
Matt Salo
Executive Director
National Association of Medicaid Directors (NAMD) 
Scott Serota
President and Chief Executive Officer
Blue Cross Blue Shield Association (BCBSA) 
Steven J. Stack, M.D.
Chair, Board of Trustees
American Medical Association 
Robert Tagalicod
Office of E‐Health Standards and Services
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Susan L. Turney, M.D., M.S., FACMPE, FACP

President and Chief Executive Officer
Medical Group Management Association (MGMA) 
Bernard J. Tyson
Chief Executive Officer
Kaiser Permanente



Lee Barrett
Executive Director
Electronic Healthcare Network Accreditation
Commission (EHNAC)

William R. Braithwaite, M.D., Ph.D.
Braithwaite Consulting

Susan Dentzer
Health Affairs

Lisa Gallagher
Vice President, Technology Programs
Health Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS)

Joseph Gonzalez
President, The Cooperative Exchange

Marjorie Greenberg
Executive Secretary
National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics (NCVHS)
Chief, Classifications and Public Health Data Standards
National Center for Health Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Gerard Grundler
Managing Principal, Healthcare IT Services

Joseph S. Smith
Senior Vice President and CIO
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Arkansas

Walter G. Suarez, M.D., M.P.H.
Executive Director
Health IT Strategy and Policy
Kaiser Permanente
Chair, Subcommittee on Standards
National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics (NCVHS) 
Charles R. Thompson, Ph.D.
Senior Research Health Informaticist
RTI Center for the Advancement of Health IT (CAHIT)

Jon Zimmerman
Senior Vice President and General Manager Clinical Solutions
Availity, LLC 

WEDI Representatives

Donald Bechtel
Sr. Key Expert and Patient Privacy Officer
Siemens Healthcare
WEDI Past-Chair

Leanne Cardwell
Vice President
Development & External Relations

Jim Daley
Director, IT Risk and Compliance
BCBS of South Carolina
WEDI Chair

Edward D. Jones, III
Owner and Project Manager
Cornichon Healthcare Select, LLC
WEDI Report Project Management Firm

Devin Jopp, Ed.D.
President and Chief Executive Officer

Jean Narcisi
Director, Dental Informatics
American Dental Association
WEDI Chair-Elect 

“WEDI’s efforts to bring together industry and government, especially around the intersection of the administrative and clinical worlds, is a key component to helping people get better health and better care at lower cost.”

Farzad Mostashari
National Coordinator for Health IT
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

“Twenty years ago, as Secretary of HHS, I brought industry and government together under the WEDI aegis to collaborate on building a roadmap for the healthcare industry to apply information technology to facilitate exchange of healthcare data, improve quality of healthcare delivery, and reduce costs. I think it is appropriate on the 20th anniversary of the WEDI Report to revive that collaboration to draft a new roadmap to guide the next generation of healthcare information exchange that will lead to transforming the delivery of healthcare and improving the efficiency of the nation’s health system in the years ahead.”

  The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.