Skip to content

Knowledge Center

Episode 154: Hybrid Horizons: Balancing Security and Employee Satisfaction in the Workplace. Denis O'Shea, Mobile Mentor

December 17, 2017

Industry champions recognized for contributions to further association and health IT industry initiatives

RESTON, Va. — December 6, 2017 —  The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI), the nation’s leading nonprofit authority on the use of health IT to create efficiencies in healthcare information exchange and a trusted advisor to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), announced today the winners of its annual awards program. Each award recipient was announced during WEDI-Con 2017 in Reston, Va. on Wednesday, December 6.

“The WEDI Board of Directors is privileged with the opportunity to recognize those individuals and organizations leading the charge in making impactful advances for our health IT industry each year,” said Charles W. Stellar, president and CEO of WEDI. “We had no shortage of incredibly worthy nominees, and we are grateful for each of these individual’s and organization’s dedication, commitment and tireless efforts toward advancing efficiency in healthcare through the use of information technology. Congratulations to all the 2017 award winners, and we thank you for your unwavering support.”

Andrew H. Melczer Leadership in Volunteerism Award – Named in memory of Andrew H. Melczer who exemplified these characteristics through his volunteerism with WEDI, this award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service by giving their time to the association and healthcare IT industry activities on a national basis. The late Andy Melczer committed his career to healthcare and devoted his life to helping, teaching and sharing with others. Jay Eisenstock, WEDI’s Chair Elect is the 2017 recipient of the Melczer Award.

Chair’s Award – This award is presented at the discretion of WEDI’s Chair to an individual who has demonstrated exceptional leadership and commitment to the advancement of specific WEDI initiatives. The 2017 recipients of this award are Jay Eisenstock, WEDI Chair Elect and Debbi Meisner, Change Healthcare.

Corporate Leadership Award – This award recognizes the WEDI member organization that displays the highest level of commitment to and corporate involvement in the work and activities of WEDI each year. The 2017 award recipient is the American Medical Association (AMA).

Excellence in Health IT Award – Recognizing an individual or organization’s contribution to the advancement of health information technology and eCommerce technology in healthcare, the 2017 Excellence in Health IT Award recipient is CAQH.

HIT Government Champion Award – This award recognizes exceptional government personnel who have supported policy that advances the health IT industry. This person has also been an active ally of WEDI and has helped build government support on new initiatives. The 2017 HIT Government Champion Award was presented to Madhusudhan Annadata, Division of National Standards, at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).

Louis W. Sullivan Award – Named in honor of the former HHS Secretary who was instrumental in the creation of WEDI and initiating the healthcare industry’s ongoing commitment to improving healthcare through the development of standards for administrative simplification, The Honorable Louis W. Sullivan, MD, this award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, vision and achievements in advancing the efficiency of healthcare. The 2017 Sullivan Award was presented to Jean Narcisi, WEDI Past Chair, American Dental Association.

Outstanding Corporate Sponsor Award – This award is given to a company that has served as a strong champion of progress in the health IT industry through their continued commitment to WEDI’s sponsorship programs throughout the year. The 2017 awardee is TIBCO, a global leader in integration, API management, and analytics.

Outstanding Leadership Award – This award recognizes Workgroup/Taskforce or Subworkgroup (SWG) Co-Chairs who have consistently contributed toward the growth, success and impact their group has made on the industry. The 2017 recipients of this award include:

  • Laurie Burckhardt, Attachments Collaboration Project, WPS Health Solutions;
  • Pam Grosze, Data Exchange Workgroup Co-Chair, PNC Bank;
  • Heather McComas, Prior Authorization SWG Co-Chair, AMA;
  • Debbi Meisner, Leadership Workgroup Co-Chair, Change Healthcare;
  • Kathryn Jonzzon, Dental SWG Co-Chair, Delta Dental;
  • Susan Langford, Attachments SWG Co-Chair, Blue Cross Blue Shield of Tennessee;
  • Nancy Spector, Innovative Encounters Workgroup Co-Chair, AMA; and
  • Grant Wood, Genomics Workgroup Co-Chair, Intermountain Health Care Clinical Genetics Institute.

Volunteer Service Award – This certificate recognizes a leader on the rise – someone making a real contribution and difference within WEDI. This award recognizes someone who has actively supported the efforts of their workgroup, subworkgroup or taskforce through their commitment, leadership, team play and productivity. The 2017 recipients of this award are Penny Probst, Highmark and Sean Whitney, Anthem.

Distinguished Service Award – This award recognizes individuals who have provided significant leadership to the fulfillment of the mission, objectives, programs and overall volunteer activities of WEDI through participation in committees, workgroups, PAGs, Board of Directors, among others. The 2017 recipients of this award include:

  • Janice Bakos, Aetna;
  • Patrick Cannady, American Dental Association (ADA);
  • Lorraine Doo, CMS;
  • Gail Kocher, Blue Cross Blue Shield Association (BCBSA);
  • Heather McComas, AMA; and
  • Debbi Meisner, Change Healthcare.

For more information on the 2017 awardees or on the WEDI-Con conference, please visit

About WEDI

The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI) is the leading authority on the use of health IT to improve healthcare information exchange in order to enhance the quality of care, improve efficiency, and reduce costs of our nation’s healthcare system. WEDI was formed in 1991 by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) and was designated in the 1996 HIPAA legislation as an advisor to HHS. WEDI’s membership includes a broad coalition of organizations, including: hospitals, providers, health plans, vendors, government agencies, consumers, not-for-profit organizations, and standards development organizations. To learn more, visit and connect with us on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Scroll To Top