Skip to content

Knowledge Center

Episode 154: Hybrid Horizons: Balancing Security and Employee Satisfaction in the Workplace. Denis O'Shea, Mobile Mentor

December 18, 2020

Leadership in Volunteerism - The Andrew Melczer Award

Named in honor of the late Andrew Melczer who committed his career to healthcare and devoted his life to helping, teaching, and sharing with others. This award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service by giving their time to WEDI and the health care IT industry on a national basis. Andrew Melczer exemplified these characteristics through his volunteerism with WEDI.

Award Recipient: John Kelly, Principal Business Advisor, Edifecs


Health IT Champion – The Louis Sullivan Award

Named in honor of the former HHS Secretary Louis Sullivan who was instrumental in the creation of WEDI and initiating the healthcare industry’s ongoing commitment to improving healthcare through the development of standards for administrative simplification.  This award recognizes an individual who has distinguished themselves through their leadership, vision and achievements in advancing the efficiency of healthcare.

Award Recipient: Alix Goss, Vice President and Senior Consulting at Imprado


Excellence in Health IT Award

Recognizes an organization such as provider, health plan or HIT vendor that has contributed to the advancement of HIT and advancing administrative automation and technology in healthcare.

Award Recipient: Edifecs


Volunteer Service Award

Recognizes a leader in the making; someone who is making a real contribution and a real difference within WEDI. This award recognizes someone who has actively supported the efforts of their workgroup, subworkgroup, committee or task group through their commitment, leadership, team play, and productivity.

Award Recipients:

Marilyn Zigmund, Vice President at America's Health Insurance Plans (AHIP)

Tina Grande, Executive Vice President, Policy at Healthcare Leadership Council

Allison Armstrong, Public Policy Director, Anthem

Beth Davis, Senior Manager, Allscripts

Rose Hodges, Product Leader at Aetna

Donna Campbell, Provider Portal & Provider Connectivity IT Product Manager, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma & Texas

Patrick Cannady, Health Informatics Professional, American Dental Association

Matthew Albright, Chief Legislative Affairs Officer at Zelis

Dave Haugen, Administrative Simplification Program Director, Minnesota Department of Health


Distinguished Service – The Steve Lazarus Award

Named in honor of Steve Lazarus, who was a former WEDI Board Chair and expletory volunteer. This award recognizes an individual who has provided significant leadership to the fulfillment of the mission, objectives, programs and overall volunteer activities of WEDI through participation in committees, workgroups, PAGs, Board of Directors, and events.

Award Recipient: Laurie Darst, Revenue Cycle Regulatory Advisor, Mayo Clinic


Chair Award

Each year at the discretion of the WEDI Board Chair, WEDI presents the Chairman’s award to board members whose contributions to WEDI have gone above and beyond their board responsibilities. This award recognizes board members who have distinguished themselves through their leadership, creativity, and inspiration.
Scroll To Top