Skip to content

Knowledge Center

Episode 154: Hybrid Horizons: Balancing Security and Employee Satisfaction in the Workplace. Denis O'Shea, Mobile Mentor

December 5, 2017

Three new members join multi-stakeholder board to lead industry efforts in advancing use of health IT

RESTON, Va. — December 5, 2017 — The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI), the nation’s leading nonprofit authority on the use of health IT to create efficiencies in healthcare information exchange and a trusted advisor to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), announced today the election of three new board members to its Board of Directors, as well as the re-election of eight previous board members to serve two-year terms. The WEDI Board of Directors represents a diverse cross-section of the industry including payers, providers, government regulators and industry vendors. This group of executives will strategically drive the organization’s endeavors to promote the use of health IT in improving healthcare information exchange – enhancing quality of care, improving efficiency and reducing costs.

New board members include:

  1. Laurie Burckhardt, WPS Health Solutions (Health Plan)
  2. Crystal Ewing, ZirMed (Vendor)
  3. Laurie Woodrome, LabCorp (Provider)

Re-elected board members include:

  1. Durwin Day, Health Care Service Corporation (Health Plan)
  2. John Kelly, Edifecs (Vendor)
  3. Deborah Meisner, Change Healthcare (Vendor)
  4. Ryan Reddick, Anthem (Health Plan)
  5. Erin Richardson, Federation of American Hospitals (Provider)
  6. Samuel E. Rubenstein, Montefiore Medical Center (Provider)
  7. Debra Strickland, Conduent (Vendor)
  8. Robert Tennant, Medical Group Management Association (Provider)

Standing and appointed board members include:

  1. George Arges, American Hospital Association (Provider)
  2. Stacey Barber, Hewlett Packard (Vendor)
  3. Robert Bowman, CAQH (Standards/Operating Rules)
  4. Laura Darst, Mayo Clinic (Provider)
  5. Lorraine Doo, Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (Government)
  6. Jay Eisenstock, Chair Elect (Health Plan)
  7. Jaime Evermann, BCBS South Carolina (Health Plan)
  8. Pam Grosze, PNC Bank (Vendor)
  9. David Haugen, Minnesota Department of Health (Government)
  10. Scott Herbst, Availity (Vendor)
  11. Charles Jaffe, Health Level Seven HL7 (Standards/Operating Rules)
  12. Gail Kocher, BCBS Association (Health Plan)
  13. Bryan Matsuura, Kaiser Permanente (Hybrid)
  14. Tom Meyers, America’s Health Insurance Plans (Health Plan)
  15. Jean Narcisi, American Dental Association (Provider)
  16. Teresa Rivera, Utah Health Information Network (Not-for-Profit/Affiliate)
  17. Nancy Spector, American Medical Association (Provider)
  18. Charles Stellar, WEDI (President & CEO Ex-Officio)
  19. Lee Ann Stember, NCPDP (Standards/Operating Rules)
  20. Michael Wilson, HealthCare Information Management, Inc. (Vendor)

“We have an incredible group of seasoned executives making up our Board of Directors,” said Charles W. Stellar, president and CEO of WEDI. “Their expertise and range of perspectives are invaluable to our organization as we look to create efficiencies to the healthcare industry as a whole through better use of health information technology. Congratulations to the new and re-elected board members – we look forward to furthering our initiatives together.”

For more information on the WEDI Board of Directors, visit the WEDI website.

About WEDI
The Workgroup for Electronic Data Interchange (WEDI) is the leading authority on the use of health IT to improve healthcare information exchange in order to enhance the quality of care, improve efficiency, and reduce costs of our nation’s healthcare system. WEDI was formed in 1991 by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) and was designated in the 1996 HIPAA legislation as an advisor to HHS. WEDI’s membership includes a broad coalition of organizations, including: hospitals, providers, health plans, vendors, government agencies, consumers, not-for-profit organizations, and standards development organizations. To learn more, visit and connect with us on Twitter and LinkedIn.

Scroll To Top